Stuffed shark

anxious waves

I sleep with a stuffed shark. My mom bought my shark for me for Christmas at Whole Foods. We’d gone to the WF near her house in California, and I saw the stuffed shark hanging out on a big display of locally-made organic free-range stuffed animals. Animals made of pesticide-free cotton and stuffing for a living wage. Although this stuffed shark was on dry land in a store next to some bags of popcorn, we made eye contact (my eyes being real human eyes and his being saucer-sized flat pieces of felt) and I went running for the shark. Because it is debatable that I ever really got to be a kid (having a genius IQ and being tall makes the adults in your life treat you like an adult, unfortunately), I went running for the shark and pulled it off the shelf and embraced it and because it was…

View original post 390 more words

Leave a Reply

